Women's World Cup in Vårgårda Sweden


Stage 1 TTT : Vårgårda 41km


Cervélo TestTeam successfully defended their title riding to another win today at the team time trial at the World Cup in Vårgårda Sweden.


Cervelo TTT Vargarda

Photograph courtesy of Cervélo © CJfoto.com



“We all rode the same pace today and that was the key to our success,” explained Regina Bruins (NED) who was also part of the winning team last year. “Everybody did the right job and I am really proud we won again.”


The team this year rode without  the now retired Olympic TT Champion, Kristin Armstrong and was also short of Lizzie Armitstead.  Emma Pooley stepped into her cycling shoes at the last minute.


Cervélo TestTeam took the win by more than a minute on HTC-Columbia and it was over 2 minutes back to third place Nederland Bloeit.



1 Cervelo Test Team 0:55:34  
  Charlotte Becker (Ger)    
  Regina Bruins (Ned)    
  Iris Slappendel (Ned)    
  Kirsten Wild (Ned)    
2 HTC Columbia Women 0:01:08  
  Judith Arndt (Ger)    
  Linda Melanie Villumsen (NZl)    
  Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned)    
  Adrie Visser (Ned)    
3 Nederland Bloeit 0:02:25  
  Liesbet De Vocht (Bel)    
  Loes Gunnewijk (Ned)    
  Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned)    
  Marianne Vos (Ned)  


Stage 2 Women’s World Cup: Vargarda - Vargarda 132.0 km


Cervélo TestTeam dominated the second stage by delivering their sprinter, Kirsten Wild (NED), for the win.


Kristen won the 132 km road race, which ended in a bunch sprint, beating Adrie Visser (NED) HTC – Columbia and Emma Johansson (SWE). During the race there where several breakaways but they never got enough space. In the final, Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) made a solo attack, but Cervélo TestTeam brought Vos back in the bunch in the streets of Vargarda and Wild was able to win her second world cup race.


“We had more options today and we also had some riders in a breakaway group. Though there was a lot of action today, our team had control over the race and we always had somebody there,” explained Kirsten Wild after her successful win today. “When Vos attacked in the final I was a bit afraid but then when our team started the chaining at the front we saw her coming closer. I was really proud of my team today, riding in our train behind such strong girls was really cool, it was like our team trial on Friday. In the last meters Sarah Düster, who was my last lead out person, brought me into position perfectly and I was able to win this race.”


“Again a victory, our second this week, we can't do no better than that,” said a smiling Egon van Kessel, Sports Director. “In the beginning there was a lot of raining but it subsided and things dried up about halfway through the race Emma Pooley (GBR) attacked, as we had planned on the first lap to put some pressure on, but the wrong team was chasing her. So we pulled it back. Then we had another attack of 6 riders and after that another attack this time with Sarah Düster. We could see that this group wasn’t working together so we knew that the bunch sprint would become pretty big.


“But in the last lap on the last hill there was a really strong and surprising attack by Marianne Vos (NED). We started chasing her but could not close the gap. So with 3 km to go we went full gas with the entire team at the front. We pulled really hard and we took her back 600 meters before the finish. Throughout the race there was really good teamwork today, what they did was amazing. I am happy for Kirsten, this is the first world cup she’s won this year and she really deserved it.”



1 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Cervelo TestTeam 3:23:33  
2 Adrie Visser (Ned) HTC Columbia Women    
3 Emma Johansson (Swe) Redsun Cycling Team    
4 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Nederland Bloeit    
5 Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) HTC Columbia Women    
6 Grace Verbeke (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team 0:00:04  
7 Chantal Blaak (Ned) Leontien.nl    
8 Charlotte Becker (Ger) Cervelo TestTeam    
9 Irene Van Den Broek (Ned) Leontien.nl    
10 Megan Dunn (Aus) Australia    
11 Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit    
12 Lelizaveta Oshurkova (Ukr) Ukraine    
13 Lucy Martin (GBr) Great Britain    
14 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Nederland Bloeit    
15 Sophie Creux (Fra) ESGL 93 - GSD Gestion    
16 Lucinda Brand (Ned) Leontien.nl    
17 Karin Aune (Swe) Fenixs - Petrogradets    
18 Marie Lindberg (Swe) Redsun Cycling Team    
19 Madeleine Olsson (Swe) Alriksson Go:Green    
20 Gloria Presti (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi    



Web site design by GVC