British National Track Championships


500m TT


The very first title of the championships was the women’s 500m TT and the unstoppable Victoria Pendleton showed she is still the one to beat taking her 27th national title in a time of 34.636.  She was the only woman to go under 35 seconds, as silver went to Becky James, who recorded a PB with 35.254 and bronze to Jess Varnish in 35.283.


Interestingly, the top women are at slightly different stages with their training right now.  Becky James and the Scottish contingent are building for the Commonwealth Games, while Vicky and Jess are coming off a strength phase and will not have any speed training done yet.  This is because the England team are not sending track riders to the Commonwealth Games - they are focussing on the European Championships which are qualifiers for the 2012 Olympics.


The field for this event was boosted by a number of endurance riders looking to acclimatise themselves before the pursuit, and the best of these was Wendy Houvenaghel who rode a very creditabe 38.320 to place her 9th above some dedicated sprinters.



1 Victoria Pendleton (Sky Track Cycling) 0:00:34.636  
2 Rebecca James (Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta) 0:00:35.254  
3 Jess Varnish (Halesowen A&CC) 0:00:35.283  
4 Anna Blyth (100%ME) 0:00:36.476  
5 Jenny Davis (City of Edinburgh RC) 0:00:37.160  
6 Helen Scott (Halesowen A&CC) 0:00:37.261  
7 Alison Chisholm (ERC) 0:00:37.630  
8 Charlene Joiner (City of Edinburgh RC) 0:00:37.644  
9 Wendy Houvenaghel (Bikechain-Ricci) 0:00:38.320  
10 Emma Baird (City of Edinburgh RC) 0:00:38.871  
11 Sarah Storey (Horizon Fitness) 0:00:39.091  
12 Louise Haston (City of Edinburgh RC) 0:00:39.238  
13 Cassie Gledhill (Team Orbea) 0:00:39.244  
14 Donna Williams (Team Terminator) 0:00:39.728  
15 Louise Satherley (Team Terminator) 0:00:40.336  
16 Nicci Meadows ( 0:00:40.622  
17 Julie Dominguez (West Lothian Clarion) 0:00:41.420  
18 Cheryl Owens (GS Metro) 0:00:41.985  
19 Emma Williams (Twickenham CC) 0:00:45.317  


Women’s Madison 20k


The two Hannah’s (Barnes and Walker) took the title ahead of Dani King and Ella Hopkins in a thrilling race, which went down to the final sprint after being on equal points after three sprints.  Fresh back from the Junior World Championships, Laura Trott and Harriet Owen took bronze having consistent taking points in all four sprints.



1. Hannah Barnes/Hannah Walker 16pts
2. Dani King/Ella Hopkins 13pts
3. Harriet Owens/Laura Trott 8pt

4. Katie Curtis/Alex Greenfield 4pts

5. Corrine Hall/Ruby Millar 1pt

6. Lisa Daly/Rebecca Wormersley



Web site design by GVC