British National Track Championships


Women’s Sprint


Vicky P set out to take her ninth sprint title in this key Olympic event and in qualifying fastest with 11.067, she gave herself the easiest route through.  The very interesting battle between the two riders who are vying for the number two spot on the GB squad, once again came out in favour of the younger Welsh rider, Becky James, who was two tenths faster in qualifying than Jess Varnish, with times of 11.406 and 11.600 respectively.  Junior Victoria Williamson, who has recently come over to cycling from running, was the only other rider to get under 12 seconds.


Victoria Pendleton qualifying 200



1 Victoria Pendleton       11.067
2 Rebecca James       11.408
3 Jess Varnish       11.600
4 Victoria Wilkinson       11.964
5 Charlene Joiner       12.108
6 Jenny Davis       12.148
7 Emma Baird       12.637
8 Cassie Gledhill       12.750
9 Louise Haston       12.910
10 Kayleigh Brogan       12.932
11 Louise Satherley       13.449


Unsurprisingly, Victoria Pendleton progressed with ease to the gold medal ride off, beating Louise Satherley, then Cassie Gledhill and Victoria Williamson.


Becky James earned herself the honour of riding off against Vicky for the title by beating Emma Baird and Cassie Gledhill in her first round ride (3 up) and then, Emma Baird again in the quarter finals.  She then met fellow GB squad member, Jess Varnish in what looked like it would be the most interesting match of the event.  In the first heat Jess led out, but Becky was able to come over her in the finishing straight and in the second heat, Becky led out and Jess was unable to mount a challenge.


The bronze medal ride was a show down between Jess Varnish and junior Victoria Williamson.  Jess proved too strong for Victoria and won in two straight matches, without looking troubled.


In the gold medal ride off, there were only two rides needed for the defending champion, Victoria Pendleton, wearing the rainbow stripes of the reigning World Champion, to clinch the title for the seventh time.  Full credit to James for making her work for it and for mounting a real challenge.



Gold   Victoria Pendleton Sky Track Cycling
Silver  Rebecca James Motor Point Marshalls
Bronze Jess Varnich Halesowen A & CC
4th Victoria Williamson Welwyn Wheelers


Women’s Individual Pursuit


It might not still be an Olympic event, but there was no lack of class in the field this year.  Olympic silver medallist from Beijing, Wendy Houvenaghel posted a truly world class time of 3:31:555 in qualifying, over seven seconds faster than Paralympian, Sarah Storey with 3:39.000.  The bronze medal ride off was an interesting mix of World Junior silver medallist, Laura Trott, who qualified with 3:44:162, versus sprinter-turned endurance rider, Anna Blyth who rode 3:48:091.


The medal ride offs held no surprises, that is if you are to discount the fact that Wendy even faster, with a 3:30:612.  She was in the same straight as Sarah Storey after just 2k and passed her with two laps to go.


The bronze medal ride off went to Laura Trott, who beat Anna Blythe by over 3 seconds


Wendy Houvenaghel

Wendy Houvenaghel in action at the World Championships 2009


Photograph courtesy of  The only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition



Gold Wendy Houvenaghel Bikechain - Ricci  3.30.612
Silver Sarah Storey Horizon Fitness  (caught)
Bronze  Laura Trott Welwyn Wheelers  3.44.769
4 Anna Blyth 100% ME  3.51.452
5 Dani King Horizon Fitness  3.50.236
6 Corrine Hall Team Corridori  3.57.080
7 Mari Todd Sandy Wallace Cycles  3.57.997
8 Emma Grant AW  3.58.467



Web site design by GVC