British National Track Championships


Women’s Team Pursuit


The first ever Women’s Team Pursuit was decided, with the gold medallist from Beijing in the Individual Pursuit, Rebecca Romero, riding her first race on the boards since the Olympic fina.  Rebecca, riding for Orbea-For Goodness Shakes! signalled her intent to return to the British squad, to contest the Team Pursuit at London 2012, in front of a sell out crowd at the Manchester velodrome.  She recognises that two years out from the London games, she needs to get back in the saddle, she said ”I've got to put the hammer down, and get the focus and performances back”.  She was joined by team mates Emilie Fisher and Janet Birkmyre, who both work full time.


Team Pursuit Orbea For Goodness Shakes at National Championships 2010

Photograph courtesy of Tim Escott


On paper, the strongest team in the line up was the professional set up of Horizon Fitness team, consisting Paralympian Sarah Storey, with Dani King and Alex Greenfield.  The team has made no sec ret of their focus on the event, running a training camp to prepare and that preparation became obvious in qualifying, when they set the fastest time by some margin.  They capitalised on that advantage, securing the gold medal with a catch in the final.


The bronze medal ride off was a much closer battle with Team Terminator (Louise Satherley, Estelle Rogers and Donna Williams) managing to come back and overhaul an early lead from Maxgear (Rohan Battison, Marianne Britten and Jen Caldicot).  Team Terminator went onto win by just over a second.




1. Horizon Fitness caught...

2. Orbea - For Goodness Shakes!



1. Team Terminator 3.58.678

2. Maxgear RT 4.01.282



1. Horizon Fitness 3.35.772

2. Team Orbea for Goodness Shakes 3.45.818

3. Team Terminator 4.01.355

4. Maxgear RT 4.05.550



Women’s Keirin


Victoria Pendleton secured her 29th national title without appearing to be under pressure at any stage.  She won her qualifying heat with ease and was joined in the final by squad members Becky James and Jess Varnish, plus Charlene Joiner.  The repechage decided the last two places in the final and these went to Helen Scott and Cassie Gledhill.


In the final, Vicky drew position one behind the derny and held the front throughout the race.  Becky James challenged at the sound of the bell, but she was not able to finish the move and she crossed the line outside of the medals.  That left Jess Varnish glued to Vicky’s wheel and riding strongly for silver, while Helen Scott rode tactically well to take bronze.


Vicky Pendleton wind Keirin at National Championships

Photograph courtesy of Tim Escott



1. Victoria Pendleton SKY

2. Jess Varnish HAL

3. Helen Scott HAL

4. Charlene Joiner CED

5. Rebecca James MPM

6. Cassie Gledhill TOR

Web site design by GVC