World Time Trial Championships 2010


Emma Pooley became the first British woman to take the World Time Trial title, when she rode to victory in Geelong, Australia on 29 September.  Such was the dominance of the silver medallist from Beijing, that she was fastest at the first two checkpoints and a full 15 seconds clear of the field at the end.


Emma Pooley wins World TT Championships from Judith Arndt and Linda Villumsen

Photograph courtesy of Cervelo TestTeam


"I'm really happy and can't quite believe it. I am so proud to wear the world champion's jersey with the stripes for a whole year" said Emma Pooley. "It was pretty special to come second at the Olympic Games, but in a way, that was easier for me because I had no expectations and no pressure.  This time it was different.  I trained specifically for this, doing a lot of hill training and intervals on my time trial bike".


One of the pre-race favourites, Judith Arndt (Germany) took silver, securing the medal only in the closing stages of the race and only then by the smallest of margins - less than seven tenths of a second from New Zealander Linda Villumsen, who was riding her first World Championships.


The incredible Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli (France) showed the world that age is no barrier to performance.  Despite being 51 years of age she finished fifth, after setting the fastest time so far with her ride.  She was bumped out of the “hot seat” by Emma who had to sit and wait for a further eight riders to finish before she could celebrate her title.


With no radios allowed this year, riders had to judge their own pace without time checks from the team car.  Clearly, this along with the 22.9km hilly course, suited Emma well.



1 Emma Pooley (Great Britain) 0:32:48.44  
2 Judith Arndt (Germany) 0:00:15.17  
3 Linda Melanie Villumsen (New Zealand) 0:00:15.80  
4 Amber Neben (United States Of America) 0:00:37.66  
5 Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli (France) 0:00:43.94  
6 Evelyn Stevens (United States Of America) 0:01:00.08  
7 Tara Whitten (Canada) 0:01:05.91  
8 Shara Gillow (Australia) 0:01:13.18  
9 Emilia Fahlin (Sweden) 0:01:22.20  
10 Tatiana Guderzo (Italy) 0:01:25.55  
11 Emma Johansson (Sweden) 0:01:33.88  
12 Noemi Cantele (Italy) 0:01:41.15  
13 Patricia Schwager (Switzerland) 0:01:50.79  
14 Charlotte Becker (Germany) 0:01:53.95  
15 Anne Samplonius (Canada) 0:01:54.81  
16 Melissa Holt (New Zealand) 0:02:05.39  
17 Tatiana Antoshina (Russian Federation) 0:02:16.26  
18 Vicki Whitelaw (Australia) 0:02:19.31  
19 Alexis Rhodes (Australia) 0:02:23.78  
20 Olga Zabelinskaya (Russian Federation) 0:02:29.85  
21 Regina Bruins (Netherlands) 0:02:59.75  
22 Grace Verbeke (Belgium) 0:03:00.98  
23 Katazina Sosna (Lithuania) 0:03:01.50  
24 Veronica Leal Balderas (Mexico) 0:03:17.65  
25 Svitlana Galyuk (Ukraine) 0:03:23.46  
26 Chanpeng Nontasin (Thailand) 0:03:38.37  
27 Tatiana Panina (Belarus) 0:04:02.25  
28 Valeria Teresita Muller (Argentina) 0:04:07.49  
29 Lesya Kalitovska (Ukraine) 0:04:23.65  
30 Doris Schweizer (Switzerland) 0:04:27.95  
31 Monrudee Chapookham (Thailand) 0:05:12.53  
32 Rosa Maria Bravo Soba (Spain) 0:05:25.97  
33 Yelena Antonova (Kazakhstan) 0:05:40.63  
34 Belen Lopez Morales (Spain) 0:05:57.56  
35 Kimberley Yap (Malaysia) 0:05:58.22  
36 Mariana Mohammad (Malaysia) 0:06:45.81  
37 Kathryn Bertine SKN19750511 0:06:52.90  
38 Dinah Chan (Singapore) 0:07:24.47


Web site design by GVC