World Road Race Championships 2010


Giorgia Bronzini (ITA) powered through the final 150 metres to win Italy's second consecutive rainbow jersey in the Elite Women's Road Race at the 2010 UCI Road World Championships today, in Geelong Australia.


The 27-year-old pipped Marianne Vos (NED) to cover the 127.2km course in three hours, 32 minutes one second, with the Dutch woman winning her fourth silver medal in a row, becoming the first women to stand on the podium in five successive World Championships. Emma Johansson (SWE) placed third.


The three medal winners overhauled late escapees Judith Arndt (GER) and Nicole Cooke (GBR) in the final 100 metres, after the two former world champions swung into the finish straight with a nine second advantage.  Arndt, world champion in 2004 and Cooke four years later, worked together in the back half of the final lap to create an 11 second lead with 4km to go.  They looked like they would stay away until the finish, but some hard work by the Canadians saw the moved closed down at the very last minute.  It was Vos who jumped away from the chasers to make the junction with Arndt and Cooke and she continued her sprint, riding straight past them fully committed for the line, but Bronzini was on her wheel and she had the power to come by in the final meters.


Bronzini, the 2008 World Points Race champion on the track, backed up the win of her compatriot Tatiana Guderzo last year and attributed the victory to former national team director Franco Ballerini, who tragically passed away earlier this year.


“There are many people who think that the lap is too hard to arrive in a sprint,” Bronzini said.  "I thought ok I'm here, here's my chance and I must do my best for the Italian team because they are here for me and they work for me to find the win."


After teammate Annemiek Van Vleuten suffered a puncture in the final lap, Vos was left to her own devices in the race for the gold medal, but was forced to play bridesmaid once again.


“In the final I felt good but I had to go for the sprint because otherwise Cooke and Arndt were staying in the lead. I had no choice, as I wouldn’t have the gold (if I didn’t go), and I haven’t got the gold so then I think I won the silver,” Vos said.


“Well of course, Annemiek, if she was there she would have maybe (lasted) longer for the sprint. Maybe I didn’t have to go so early but that’s not how it went so I had to go.”


Despite initial questions about the finish of Vos, who Johansson initially felt had moved off her racing line, the bronze medalist was also pleased to put Sweden back on the podium.


“I was feeling very strong, I had the feeling that Marianne changed her line but after Madeleine (coach) has watched now the movie, she says she’s keeping her line but the barriers were moving more or less, that they were coming in towards me so I bumped my head into one in the public, who I hope is ok,” Johansson said.


In the initial stages of race Katheryn Curi Mattis (USA), followed the tactics of her compatriot Ben King in the under-23 road race yesterday, to attack in the third lap and create a lead that stretched to nearly three minutes by the 80km mark.



1 Giorgia Bronzini (Italy) 3:32:01  
2 Marianne Vos (Netherlands)    
3 Emma Johansson (Sweden)    
4 Nicole Cooke (Great Britain)    
5 Judith Arndt (Germany) 0:00:01  
6 Grace Verbeke (Belgium) 0:00:03  
7 Trixi Worrack (Germany)    
8 Rasa Leleivyte (Lithuania)    
9 Elizabeth Armitstead (Great Britain)    
10 Carla Swart (South Africa)    
11 Catherine Cheatley (New Zealand)    
12 Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli (France)    
13 Olga Zabelinskaya (Russian Federation)    
14 Andrea Graus (Austria)    
15 Tara Whitten (Canada)    
16 Sharon Laws (Great Britain)    
17 Amber Neben (United States Of America)    
18 Edwige Pitel (France)    
19 Linda Villumsen (New Zealand)    
20 Emma Pooley (Great Britain)    
21 Evelyn Stevens (United States Of America) 0:00:08  
22 Noemi Cantele (Italy)    
23 Erinne Willock (Canada) 0:00:21  
24 Tatiana Guderzo (Italy) 0:00:32  
25 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Netherlands) 0:01:42  
26 Ruth Corset (Australia)    
27 Regina Bruins (Netherlands)    
28 Vicki Whitelaw (Australia)    
29 Catherine Williamson (Great Britain)    
30 Tatiana Antoshina (Russian Federation)    
31 Loes Gunnewijk (Netherlands)    
32 Noortje Tabak (Netherlands)    
33 Edita Pucinskaite (Lithuania)    
34 Natalya Boyarskaya (Russian Federation) 0:01:47  
35 Elena Berlato (Italy) 0:02:02  
36 Luisa Tamanini (Italy)    
37 Grete Treier (Estonia) 0:07:38  
38 Mayuko Hagiwara (Japan) 0:07:40  
39 Oxana Kozonchuk (Russian Federation)    
40 Yulia Martisova (Russian Federation)    
41 Robyn De Groot (South Africa)    
42 Marissa Van Der Merwe (South Africa) 0:07:45  
43 Anne Samplonius (Canada) 0:07:48  
44 Polona Batagelj (Slovenia) 0:09:39  
45 Sara Mustonen (Sweden)    
46 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (France)    
47 Fröydis Waerstad (Norway)    
48 Sophie Creux (France)    
49 Liesbet De Vocht (Belgium)    
50 Veronica Leal Balderas (Mexico)    
51 Lieselot Decroix (Belgium)    
52 Marie Lindberg (Sweden) 0:11:36  
53 Lise Nöstvold (Norway)    
54 Emilia Fahlin (Sweden)    
55 Sofie De Vuyst (Belgium)    
56 Anriette Schoeman (South Africa)    
57 Martina Ruzickova (Czech Republic)    
58 Christine Majerus (Luxembourg) 0:11:52  
59 Emilie Aubry (Switzerland)    
60 Natalya Stefanskaya (Kazakhstan)    
61 Luise Keller (Germany) 0:11:54  
62 Serena Sheridan (New Zealand)    
63 Jennifer Hohl (Switzerland)    
64 Marcia Fernandes Silva (Brazil)    
65 Carmen Small (United States Of America)    
66 Alona Andruk (Ukraine)    
67 Valentina Carretta (Italy)    
68 Theresa Cliff-Ryan (United States Of America)    
69 Joelle Numainville (Canada)    
70 Toni Bradshaw (New Zealand)    
71 Nathalie Lamborelle (Luxembourg) 0:16:39  
72 Edita Janeliunaite (Lithuania)    
73 Inga Cilvinaite (Lithuania)    
74 Tatiana Panina (Belarus) 0:18:06  
75 Ariadna Tudel Cuberes (Andorra) 0:18:33  
76 Belen Lopez Morales (Spain) 0:19:35  
DNF Emilie Moberg (Norway)    
DNF Katheryn Curi Mattis (United States Of America)    
DNF Chantal Blaak (Netherlands)    
DNF Adrie Visser (Netherlands)    
DNF Ina Teutenberg (Germany)    
DNF Kirsten Wild (Netherlands)    
DNF Charlotte Becker (Germany)    
DNF Rossella Callovi (Italy)    
DNF Chanpeng Nontasin (Thailand)    
DNF Carla Ryan (Australia)    
DNF Amanda Miller (United States Of America)    
DNF Shelley Olds (United States Of America)    
DNF Tiffany Cromwell (Australia)    
DNF Elena Kuchinskaya (Russian Federation)    
DNF Eleonora Patuzzo (Italy)    
DNF Lucy Martin (Great Britain)    
DNF Katie Colclough (Great Britain)    
DNF Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Lithuania)    
DNF Shara Gillow (Australia)    
DNF Svitlana Galyuk (Ukraine)    
DNF Emma Crum (New Zealand)    
DNF Maja Marukic (Croatia)    
DNF Monrudee Chapookam (Thailand)    
DNF Ludivine Henrion (Belgium)    
DNF Karol-Ann Canuel (Canada)    
DNF Amanda Spratt (Australia)    
DNF Bridie O`Donnell (Australia)    
DNF Ana Belen Garcia Antequera (Spain)    
DNF Lesya Kalitovska (Ukraine)    
DNF Katazina Sosna (Lithuania)    
DNF Mariana Mohammad (Malaysia)    
DNF Kimberley Yap (Malaysia)    
DNF Cherise Taylor (South Africa)    
DNF Rosa Maria Bravo Soba (Spain)    
DNF Serene Lee (Singapore)    
DNF Noor Azian Alias (Malaysia)    
DNF Kathryn Bertine (Saint Kitts and Nevis)    
DNF Courteney Lowe (New Zealand)    
DNF Doris Schweizer (Switzerland)    
DNF Patricia Schwager (Switzerland)    
DNF Ana Teresa Casas (Mexico)    
DNF Valeria Teresita Muller (Argentina)    
DNF Dinah Chan (Singapore)    
DNF Sofia Arreola (Mexico)    
DNF Denise Ramsden (Canada)    
DNF Colleen Ang (Singapore)    
DNS Nina Ovcharenko (Ukraine)


Web site design by GVC