World Track Champs, Apeldoorn – Day 1


Women’s 500m TT


This was a hard one to predict with Anna Meares sitting out, to give herself the best chance of taking the sprint title, and with the current World Record holder Simona Krupeckaite of Lithuania also a non starter.  But the seeding was spot on, because it was Olga Panarina from Belarus, the last to ride who claimed the first gold medal of the 2011 UCI Track World Championships, when she covered the 500m distance in 33.896 – just six tenths of a second off the world record of 33.296, on what is reportedly a slow track.


Disappointed with silver was Sandie Claire of France, the only other rider to go under 34 seconds, she was just 23 hundredths of a seconds slower than Panarina, but thrilled with third was Miriam Welte of Germany.


A small field of just 13 women started the event, which is no longer part of the Olympic programme and sadly has dropped off the agenda for some of the dominant nations.  Dutch rider Willy Kanis gave the home crowd something to shout about when she set the new best time but it was not enough to put her on the podium as she eventually finished in the worst place of all, fourth.


olga panarina 500m TT world champion 

Pictures courtesy of the only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition



1 Olga Panarina (Belarus) 0:00:33.896  
2 Sandie Clair (France) 0:00:00.023  
3 Miriam Welte (Germany) 0:00:00.600  
4 Willy Kanis (Netherlands) 0:00:00.761  
5 Wai Sze Lee (Hong Kong, China) 0:00:00.814  
6 Lisandra Guerra  Rodriguez (Cuba) 0:00:00.826  
7 Rebecca Angharad James (Great Britain) 0:00:01.139  
8 Olga Streltsova (Russian Federation) 0:00:01.831  
9 Won Gyeong Kim (Korea) 0:00:02.224  
10 Fatehah Mustapa (Malaysia) 0:00:02.562  
11 Angeliki Koutsonikoli (Greece) 0:00:02.856  
12 Ryoko Nakagawa (Japan) 0:00:03.764  
13 Luz Daniela Gaxiola Gonzalez (Mexico) 0:00:04.546  



Points race 25km


On a night that was dominated by the women from relatively small country of Belarus, the Points Race title went to Tatsiana Sharakova, last year’s silver medallist, after she gained a lap in a superb solo attack.  The silver medal was secured by Jarmila Machacova (Czech Republic), after an incredibly gutsy ride, with the world cup winner and previous World Road Race Champion, Giorgia Bronzini (Italy) settlng for bronze, a medal she only secured on the very last sprint.


After the race Sharakova said “It was so hard and it did not expect (to win).  I wait for many years and today is my day.  It means a lot for us because we are a small country and for us to get two medals is amazing.  Olga (Panarina) gave me power“.


For us the ride of the night came from Machacova, she formed an early break with three riders that looked very dangerous but they never made the junction.  She earned herself 20 points by taking maximum points in the four sprints that were contested while she was off the front, but she was eventually bought back and was unable to secure any further points.


Sharakova was in fact the only rider able to gain a lap on the field and thereby earned herself 20 points, she took 5 points during her lap gain and had already won an earlier sprint – her tally of 30 points proved to be enough to secure the title.


Marianne Vos attacked and attacked during the race, but not even the support of her home crowd was enough to help her on the night.  She was closely marked and never made a break stick.  Vos who took the Cyclo Cross World title earlier this year and who has also won titles on the road and track, said she was nervous and did not have the best legs for the race on the night.


Points race action

Pictures courtesy of the only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition



1 Tatsiana Sharakova (Belarus) 30  pts
2 Jarmila Machacova (Czech Republic) 20  
3 Giorgia Bronzini (Italy) 14  
4 Minami Uwano (Japan) 12  
5 Yoanka Gonzalez Perez (Cuba) 10  
6 Cari Higgins (United States Of America) 7  
7 Marianne Vos (Netherlands) 7  
8 Maria Luisa Calle Williams (Colombia) 6  
9 Joanne Kiesanowski (New Zealand) 6  
10 Madeleine Sandig (Germany) 5  
11 Pascale Schnider (Switzerland) 4  
12 Danielys Garcia Buttrago (Venezuela)    
13 Mei Yu Hsiao (Chinese Taipei)    
14 Chanpeng Nontasin (Thailand)    
15 Wan Yiu Jamie Wong (Hong Kong, China)    
16 Svetlana Pauliukaite (Lithuania)    
DNF Olaberria Dorronsoro (Spain)    
DNF Pascale Jeuland (France)    
DNF Sarah Kent (Australia)    
DNF Edyta Jasinska (Poland)


points race 2

Pictures courtesy of the only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition



Web site design by GVC