World Track Champs, Apeldoorn – Day 4


Match Sprint


Anna Meares of Australia capitalised on her amazing form by taking the sprint title.  The silver medallist from Beijing has been second third and even fourth too many times, but after 10 years of trying, she claimed the world title with a dominant display of sprinting.


Anna Meares of Australia takes gold ahead of Simona Krupeckaite

Pictures courtesy of the only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition


Meares had reluctantly taken her coache's advice and sat out her one of her favourite events, the 500m time trial, to give herself the best possible opportunity to win the sprint and clearly the gamble paid off.


Meares dispatched Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania) in two races to take the gold medal final, while Great Britain's Victoria Pendleton made light work of beating the fastest qualifier, Olga Panarina (Belarus) to take the bronze.


This is Meares's seventh rainbow jersey and it is testament to the work that she has put in to change herself from a 500m specialist, to the stand on the top of the podium for the match sprint - a change partially forced upon her by changes to the Olympic programme that mean the 500m TT will no longer feature.



1 Anna Meares (Australia)    
2 Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania)    
3 Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain)    
4 Olga Panarina (Belarus)    
5 Lyubov Shulika (Ukraine)    
6 Sandie Clair (France)    
7 Kristina Vogel (Germany)    
8 Shuang Guo (People'S Republic of China)    
9 Rebecca Angharad James (Great Britain)    
10 Kaarle Mcculloch (Australia)



Scratch Race


The home crowd went crazy when Marianne Vos (Netherlands) took the first gold medal for the home nation at this meeting.  In an aggressive race, nothing was being let go, but in the last quarter, Aksana Papko (Belarus) attacked and quickly got a decent gap.  No-one seemed to react, but Vos sensed the danger and chased hard and with Katherine Bates (Australia) bridged over to make a break of three.  They were joined by Dani King (GB) who attacked out of the bunch to get to them alone and later the group numbered five as Els Belmans (Belgium) also made it over to them.


Marianne Vos leads the winning break

Pictures courtesy of the only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition



Coming up to the bell Vos attacked hard and left nothing to chance in taking the win.  Behind her the lesser places were all less than a wheel apart, with a photo finish for third.  Clearly second was the Australian Katherine Bates, still recovering from hip surgery last year after a big crash, and the podium was rounded out by Dani King.  King, originally identified as a sprinter by GB talent spotters never quite made her mark and has subsequently reinvented herself as an endurance rider.  She adds the bronze medal to the gold won in the team pursuit earlier in the week and can count her first world championships a huge success.




1 Marianne Vos (Netherlands)    
2 Katherine Bates (Australia)    
3 Danielle King (Great Britain)    
4 Els Belmans (Belgium)    
5 Aksana Papko (Belarus)    
6 Malgorzata Wojtyra (Poland)    
7 Giorgia Bronzini (Italy)    
8 Anastasia Chulkova (Russian Federation)    
9 Sofia Arreola Navarro (Mexico)    
10 Lucie Zaleska (Czech Republic)    
11 Elke Gebhardt (Germany)    
12 Debora Galvez Lopez (Spain)    
13 Xiao Juan Diao (Hong Kong, China)    
14 Fatehah Mustapa (Malaysia)    
15 Jennie Reed (United States Of America)    
16 Alzbeta Pavlendova (Slovakia)    
17 Yoanka Gonzalez Perez (Cuba)    
18 Pascale Jeuland (France)    
19 Paola Munoz (Chile)


Web site design by GVC