UCI Mountain Bike World Cup Round 2, Dalby Forest


Frenchwoman, Julie Bresset (BH - Suntour - Peisey Vallandry) delighted in her first World Cup win after covering five laps around Dalby Forest in high winds and with some heavy showers thrown in for good measure.  


She finished alone, a full minute ahead of the Danish Champion, Annika Langvad who was just 3 seconds clear of the bronze medallist Sabine Spitz (Germany - Central Haibike Pro Team).


The winner of the first round of the World Cup, Ren Chengyuan of China, looked to be very much in contention right up until the last lap, with some dominant riding to break up the field early in the race, but she hit the wall in the final lap and lost so much time she eventually finished out of the medals 5th place.


By the end of the first 6.1km lap the field was fragmented, with Ren Chengyuan on the front and driving hard.  She had company in the form of Lene Byberg (Norway) and Nathalie Schneitter (Switzerland).  The Chinese rider kept the pressure on and eeked out a 10 second lead and looked to be a sure bet for the win, but in the second lap Bresset showed that she was not finished yet and she worked her way up to front and worked with Ren Chengyuan so that the two of them moved away from the rest of the field.


Going into the final lap the pair had a lead of a full minute on the field, but then Ren Chengyuan inexplicably lost a huge amount of ground and with 3k to go Bresset had a full thirty second lead on her, time for her to really enjoy the finish alone, crossing the line with both arms up.



1 Julie Bresset (Fra) BH - Suntour - Peisey Vallandry 1:40:59  
2 Annika Langvad (Den) 0:01:03  
3 Sabine Spitz (Ger) Central Haibike Pro Team 0:01:06  
4 Eva Lechner (Ita) Colnago Arreghini Sudtirol 0:01:22  
5 Ren Chengyuan (Chn) Specialized Racing 0:01:24  
6 Maja Wloszczowska (Pol) CCC Polkowice 0:01:31  
7 Catharine Pendrel (Can) Luna Pro Team 0:01:36  
8 Lene Byberg (Nor) Specialized Racing 0:01:51  
9 Nathalie Schneitter (Swi) Colnago Arreghini Sudtirol 0:02:05  
10 Tereza Hurikova (Cze) Central Haibike Pro Team 0:02:06  
11 Marie-Helene Premont (Can) Team Maxxis - Rocky Mountain 0:02:13  
12 Sabrina Enaux (Fra) Felt Oetztal X - Bionic Team 0:02:41  
13 Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Pro Team 0:02:51  
14 Annie Last (GBr) 0:03:00  
15 Emily Batty (Can) Subaru - Trek 0:03:48  
16 Elisabeth Osl (Aut) Ghost Factory Racing Team 0:04:31  
17 Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Nor) Multivan Merida Biking Team 0:04:32  
18 Nina Homovec (Slo) Orbea Geax 0:04:51  
19 Hanna Klein (Ger) 0:04:57  
20 Rosara Joseph (NZl) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team 0:05:29  
21 Anna Szafraniec (Pol) CCC Polkowice 0:05:30  
22 Hanlen Karen (NZl) 0:05:38  
23 Cécile Ravanel (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix 0:05:42  
24 Esther Süss (Swi) 0:05:47  
25 Rie Katayama (Jpn) 0:06:11  
26 Alexandra Engen (Swe) 0:06:40  
27 Mary Mcconneloug (USA) 0:07:04  
28 Aleksandra Dawidowicz (Pol) CCC Polkowice 0:07:11  
29 Sarah Koba (Swi) Giant Swiss Sr - Suntour 0:07:24  
30 Lea Davison (USA) Specialized Racing 0:07:38  
31 Laura Turpijn (Ned) Team Merida Combee 0:08:41  
32 Laura Metzler (Fra) BH - Suntour - Peisey Vallandry 0:08:51  
33 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) 0:08:52  
34 Anja Gradl (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing Team    
35 Blaza Klemencic (Slo) Felt Oetztal X - Bionic Team 0:09:02  
36 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team 0:09:05  
37 Silke Schmidt (Ger) 0:09:12  
38 Amanda Sin (Can) 0:09:17  
39 Anne Terpstra (Ned) MPL Specialized MTB Team 0:09:42  
40 Heather Irmiger (USA) Subaru - Trek 0:09:45  
41 Katherine Compton (USA) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team 0:09:48  
42 Coralie Redelsperger (Fra) 0:10:11  
43 Anna Villar Argente (Spa) 0:10:20  
44 Janka Stevkova (Svk) 0:10:53  
45 Katrin Leumann (Swi) Ghost Factory Racing Team 0:11:30  
46 Daniela Veronesi (Ita) 0:11:38  
47 Githa Michiels (Bel) Trek - KMC Trade Team Vzw 0:11:46  
48 Tanja Zakelj (Slo) Orbea Geax 0:11:57  
49 Rowena Fry (Aus) 0:12:21  
50 Sandra Santanyes Murillo (Spa) 0:13:13  
51 Mical Dyck (Can) 0:13:57  
52 Katherine O'shea (Aus) 0:14:09  
53 Maddie Horton (GBr) 0:14:26  
54 Maaris Meier (Est) 0:14:38  
55 Fabienne Niederberger (Swi) 0:14:57  
56 Jenni King (Aus) 0:15:02  
57 Melanie Spath (Ger) 0:15:46  
58 Maria Osl (Aut) Fischer - BMC 0:15:59  
59 Krista Park (USA) 0:16:25  
60 Kristien Nelen (Bel) V.Z.W. Goeman Scott Cycling Team 0:16:31  
61 Nicoletta De Jager (Ned) 0:17:50  
62 Corina Gantenbein (Swi) Fischer - BMC 0:18:18  
63 Judith Pollinger (Ita) Infotre - Bi & Esse - Leecougan 0:18:38  
64 Stephanie Wiedner (Aut) 0:20:08  
-1lap Amy Dombroski (USA)    
-1lap Gracie Elvin (Aus)    
-1lap Carina Kirssi (Fin) V.Z.W. Goeman Scott Cycling Team    
-1lap Chloe Forsman (USA)    
-1lap Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing    
-1lap Lucie Vesela (Cze) GT Czech Team    
-1lap Ingrid Bosscha (Ned)    
-1lap Elliot Caitlin (Irl)    
-1lap Ciara Mcmanus (Irl)    
-1lap Maxine Filby (GBr)    
-1lap Melanie Alexander (GBr)    
-1lap Kiona Harbers (Ned)    
-2laps Anneke Beerten (Ned) Milka Trek MTB Racing Team    
-2laps Sally Gabriel (GBr)    
-2laps Natasha Barry (GBr)    
DNF Lee Craigie (GBr)    
DNF Inbar Ronen (Isr)    
DNF Magdalena Sadlecka (Pol) CCC Polkowice    
DNS Irina Kalentieva (Rus) Topeak Ergon Racing Team    
DNS Lesley Ingram (GBr)



Web site design by GVC