Fort William World Cup Downhill


The current World Champion and World Cup leader, Tracy Moseley (Trek World Racing) stormed to victory at Fort William in Sunday's World Cup downhill.


Tracy Moseley racing in the rainbow jersey


Moseley qualified second to fellow Brit Rachel Atherton (Commencal), who is coming back strongly after a shoulder injury, and so even though she set a new fastest time by a huge margin of 7.5 seconds, she still had to wait for Atherton to finish before she could be sure of the win.  And it was a nail biting wait in the hot seat for Moseley, as Atherton was up on her time by one second at the first split.  By split two they was nothing between them and it was not long before it became clear that Atherton could not match the very strong ride Moseley had put in on the lower part of the course, which eventually earned her a winning margin of 1.721 seconds. 


This is the fifth time in seven years that Moseley has won at Fort William, but the first time wearing the World Champion’s jersey, which she described as “just awesome”!


The home crowd were delighted with the British one-two, but it should be noted that France took the next three placings with Floriane Pugin (Scott) in third followed by Myriam Nicole (Riding Addiction Commencal) and then Sabrina Jonnier (Team Maxxis - Rocky Mountain), the only other rider in the field to have won at Fort William since 2005, took fifth place.


This is Moseley's second consecutive win in the World Cup series and it gives her a significant margin of 170 points on Floriane Pugin (Scott 11) in the current world Cup rankings.



1 Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing 0:05:21.898  
2 Rachel Atherton (GBr) Commencal 0:00:01.721  
3 Floriane Pugin (Fra) Scott 11 0:00:07.530  
4 Myriam Nicole (Fra) Riding Addiction Commencal 0:00:08.251  
5 Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Team Maxxis - Rocky Mountain 0:00:10.072  
6 Jill Kintner (USA) 0:00:15.010  
7 Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Team Gr 0:00:16.698  
8 Manon Carpenter (GBr) Madison Saracen 0:00:18.989  
9 Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Team Gr 0:00:21.690  
10 Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Scott 11 0:00:22.282  
11 Mio Suemasa (Jpn) 0:00:22.336  
12 Petra Bernhard (Aut) Alpine Commencal Austria 0:00:23.337  
13 Micayla Gatto (Can) 0:00:27.015  
14 Harriet Rucknagel (Ger) 0:00:30.759  
15 Morgane Charre (Fra) Passion Velo Thiers Stemtee 0:00:32.814  
16 Miriam Ruchti (Swi) 0:00:39.730  
17 Jacqueline Harmony (USA) 0:00:40.874  
18 Sandra Reynier (Fra) Ck Racing Santacruz 0:00:42.010  
19 Emily Horridge (GBr) 0:00:45.668  
20 Miranda Miller (Can) 0:02:15.615  
21 Céline Gros (Fra) Team Morzine - Avoriaz / Haute - Savoie 0:05:14.746



Web site design by GVC