World Track Championships Melbourne – Day 1


Everyone was so busy talking about the expected show down between current World Record holders Victoria Pendleton and Jess Varnish from Great Britain and defending champions Anna Meares and Kaarle McCulloch of Australia that the stunning qualifying ride from the German team went almost unnoticed by the commentators. 


Germany Team Sprint in action at the 2012 World Championships 

 Photograph courtesy of The only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition



It was clear from the faces of Miriam Welte and Kristina Vogel that they had ridden a time that delighted them – they said afterwards that they had wanted a new German record – in fact they had just set a new World Record with a time of 32.630.  However, with a number of big hitting teams still to ride, the question seemed to be how long would the record stand.


In fact, only Australia could come close and they had to settle for a place in the gold medal ride off with the second fastest time of the day, a very respectable 32.752 – quicker than the World Record going into these championships of 32.754 set by GB on the Olympic Velodrome in February, but not quicker than the Germans.


The bronze medal was to be contested by China and Great Britain who qualified only fourth fastest after Jess Varnish was unable to replicate the form she showed in February.


In the medal ride offs, GB were desperate to salvage their pride by winning a medal, but the team from China of Jinjie Gong and Shuang Guo were just too fast.  China were ahead after the first lap and although Victoria Pendleton closed the gap a little, there was just too much to do and the Bronze medal when to China.


Then the velodrome came alive for the gold medal ride off, with Australia still surely the favourite for the title.  Anna Meares, arguably the best female “man one” in the world put the Australians in the lead at the half way point, but Kristina Vogel rode a stunning 250 to over haul Kaarle McCulloch and in doing so breaking the World Record they had set just hours before, with a time of 32.549.


Germany spring surprise with two World Records en route to a win in the Team Sprint 

Photograph courtesy of The only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition



Vogel said afterwards “it's so amazing, we never believed we could go so fast”.  Asked whether she believed they could be Olympic Champions she said “that is the dream”.




Team Sprint Finals - Gold medal round

1 Germany 0:00:32.549  (Miriam Welte, Kristina Vogel (Germany))   

2 Australia 0:00:32.597  (Anna Meares, Kaarle McCulloch (Australia))


Team Sprint Finals - Bronze medal round

3 China 0:00:32.870  (Jinjie Gong, Shuang Guo (People's Republic of China))

4 Great  Britain 0:00:33.160  (essica Varnish, Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain))


Team Sprint Qualifying

1 Germany 0:00:32.630  

  Miriam Welte (Germany)    

  Kristina Vogel (Germany)    


2 Australia 0:00:32.752  

  Anna Meares (Australia)    

  Kaarle McCulloch (Australia)    


3 China 0:00:32.937  

  Jinjie Gong (People's Republic of China)    

  Shuang Guo (People's Republic of China)    


4 Great  Britain 0:00:32.941  

  Jessica Varnish (Great Britain)    

  Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain)    


5 France 0:00:33.355  

  Sandie Clair (France)    

  Clara Sanchez (France)    


6 Russia 0:00:33.440  

  Anastasya Voynova (Russian Federation)    

  Viktoria Baranova (Russian Federation)    


7 Netherlands 0:00:33.571  

  Willy Kanis (Netherlands)     

  Yvonne Hijgenaar (Netherlands)    


8 Ukraine 0:00:33.639  

  Olena Tsos (Ukraine)    

  Lyubov Shulika (Ukraine)    


9 Spain 0:00:34.276  

  Tania Calvo Barbero (Spain)    

  Helena Casas Roige (Spain)    


10 New  Zealand 0:00:34.278  

  Katie Schofield (New Zealand)    

  Natasha Hansen (New Zealand)    


11 Venezuela 0:00:34.335  

  Mariesthela Carolina Vilera (Venezuela)    

  Daniela Grelui Larreal Chirinos (Venezuela)    


12 Colombia 0:00:35.025  

  Juliana Gaviria (Colombia)    

  Diana Maria Garcia Orrego (Colombia)    


13 Korea 0:00:35.128  

  Eunji Lee (Korea)    

  Hyejin Lee (Korea)    


14 Japan 0:00:35.301  

  Kayono Maeda (Japan)    

  Hiroko Ishii (Japan)    


15 Hong  Kong 0:00:36.631  

  Xiao Juan Diao (Hong Kong, China)    

  Wai Sze Lee (Hong Kong, China)    


REL Lithuania    

  Gintare Gaivenyte (Lithuania)    

  Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania)    



Web site design by GVC