World Track Championships Melbourne – Day 5


Women’s 500m time trial


Anna Meares smashed the world record to win her fourth title in the women’s 500 metres individual time trial. Germany’s Miriam Welte was second, while Jessica Varnish of Great Britain placed third at Hisense Arena.


World Track Championships Melbourne 500m TT Podium L to R Miriam Welte, Anna Meares, Jessica Varnish 

Photograph courtesy of The only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition


The Australian left the starting gate to a mighty roar from the home crowd to clock 18.716 seconds for the first lap.


As Meares rode the second lap, the crowd’s support increased and lifted the roof at Hisense Arena when the clock stopped at 33.010 seconds to announce a new world record.


She crossed the line with her right arm aloft after the scoreboard confirmed Meares had lowered the world record by 0.286 seconds, which was set by Lithuania’s Simona Krupeckaite in 2009.


Her win follows the 28-year-old’s success in the women’s keirin on Saturday.


“This track has been so good to me in the past and I haven’t ridden a time trial in 18months,” Meares said. “I knew tonight was going to be special, I did forget how much (it hurt)… the old legs were hurting afterwards. “My goodness I couldn’t believe how loud this crowd was for me tonight.”


Meares had to wait for 16 competitors to ride before the confirmation that she had won her fourth world time trial title. Her previous titles were in 2004, 2007 and 2010.


She joins Belarussian Natalya Tsylinksaya as a four-time 500m TT winner, with France’s Felicia Ballanger the most successful with five world titles.


“It’s something special [to win] my 10th world title in the event where it all began for me eight years ago,” Meares said.


World Track Championships Melbourne 500m TT winner Anna Meares

0Photograph courtesy of The only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition


Meares dedicated the win in the time trial to her first coach, Ken Tucker, who took her under his tutelage when she was 11. “I’m very thankful for all the time and effort he’s put into me and he’s a very special person in my life,” she said.


Tucker said the performance had left him nearly speechless, a state he rarely felt. “I always did have faith in her but she has exceeded all my expectations and the ride was just wonderful,” Tucker said.


Welte said she knew the time by Meares was out of her reach but she eclipsed the times of Varnish and Kaarle McCulloch of Australia to take silver. “I know I can’t go as fast as Anna,” Welte said. “When I’ve seen the time of Jess and Karle I knew I had to go under my personal best to get a medal here.”



Gold      Anna Meares (Australia)               33.010

Silver     Miriam Welte (Germany)             33.626

Bronze   Jessica Varnish (Great Britain)     33.999 



Women’s individual pursuit


New Zealand’s Alison Shanks won her second world individual pursuit title after defeating Great Britain’s Wendy Houvenhagel in the final on the last night of competition. Shanks led after the first of twelve laps and never relinquished her lead to cover the 3000 metres in 3 minutes 30.199 seconds.  Her winning margin was 2.151 seconds.


World Track Championships individual pursuit New Zealand’s Alison Shanks wins 

Photograph courtesy of The only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition


It was the 29-year-old’s second success over Houvenhagel after she beat the Brit for gold at the 2009 world championships in Poland.


At the last world championships held in Melbourne eight years ago, Shanks’ compatriot Sarah Ulmer won the same event.


The New Zealand cyclist had qualified fastest with a world championships record of 3 minutes 27.268 seconds on Sunday afternoon.


Shanks said being a world champion was a feeling an athlete wants to repeat. “It’s so hard to get and … once you’ve had that feeling, once you want it again more and more,” Shanks said. “There were really fast times in the qualifying and I thought I’d have to do a PB (personal best) just to make the final and I was absolutely stoked with my rides tonight.”


She said the support from the crowd was nearly like competing across the Tasman Sea in New Zealand.


“It’s totally like a home crowd there are so many Kiwi’s that have come over and I think they (Australian fans) were giving us a little bit of pay back after what Aaron Gates did for Cam Myer last night in the points race.”


Ashlee Andkudinoff rode 3 minutes 33.593 seconds to defeat Australian teammate Amy Cure for the bronze. Andkudinoff led after the first lap to slowly build a lead of 1.14 seconds after 2000 metres. Cure raised her tempo in the final four laps but the 19-year-old fell short by 49 thousands of a second for the bronze medal.


Andkudinoff said she was “pretty stoked” in winning the bronze medal. The 21-year-old missed competing in the women’s team pursuit but her goal was to make the Olympic team.


“I know that I really step up on race day but you’ve just got to be consistent all the time to make the team,” Andkudinoff said. “I’m disappointed that I’m not making it but I know what I need to work on.”


World Track Championships individual pursuit podium L to R Wendy Houvenhagel, Alison Shanks, Ashlee Andkudinoff 

Photograph courtesy of The only website dedicated to track cycling - from local track leagues to top level international competition



Gold Medal Race
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1 Alison Shanks (New Zealand) 0:03:30.199  
2 Wendy Houvenaghel (Great Britain) 0:03:32.340  
Bronze Medal Race
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1 Ashlee Ankudinoff (Australia) 0:03:33.593  
2 Amy Cure (Australia) 0:03:33.642  
Qualifying results
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1 Alison Shanks (New Zealand) 0:03:27.268  
2 Wendy Houvenaghel (Great Britain) 0:03:27.842  
3 Amy Cure (Australia) 0:03:28.474  
4 Ashlee Ankudinoff (Australia) 0:03:28.869  
5 Tara Whitten (Canada) 0:03:30.407  
6 Joanna Rowsell (Great Britain) 0:03:31.187  
7 Vilija Sereikaite (Lithuania) 0:03:33.612  
8 Elizaveta Bochkareva (Ukraine) 0:03:34.471  
9 Caroline Ryan (Ireland) 0:03:34.515  
10 Jaime Nielsen (New Zealand) 0:03:35.286  
11 Jennie Reed (United States Of America) 0:03:35.359  
12 Lauren Ellis (New Zealand) 0:03:37.925  
13 Vera Koedooder (Netherlands) 0:03:38.099  
14 Venera Absalyamova (Russian Federation) 0:03:39.456  
15 Katarzyna Pawlowska (Poland) 0:03:39.519  
16 Eugenia Bujak (Poland) 0:03:39.610  
17 Madeleine Sandig (Germany) 0:03:40.156  
18 Marlies Mejias Garcia (Cuba) 0:03:40.371  
19 Maki Tabata (Japan) 0:03:44.501  
20 Minami Uwano (Japan) 0:03:44.644  
21 Svetlana Pauliukaite (Lithuania) 0:03:44.646  
22 Wan Yiu Wong (Hong Kong, China) 0:03:47.976  



Web site design by GVC