Olympic feature: Women’s Keirin


The Keirin originated in Japan back in 1948, where it is the most popular betting sport.  It first appeared in the Olympic programme in 2000 and quickly earned a reputation as a great spectator sport as the racing is always fast, unpredictable and exciting.


Anna Meares Australia wins World Championships


We reported the racing from the World Championships in Melbourne here where Anna Meares of Australia reigned supreme


For the start of this eight lap race, riders are held on the line and pushed off when the gun sounds.  They fall in behind a small motor bike, a derny, which sets a pace that steadily increases until there are two and a half laps to go.  The derny then pulls off and riders sprint to the finish.

 Keirin gets under way


From the moment riders are pushed off then can jostle for position and typically there is some contact.  The main rule to observe at this point is that they must stay behind the back wheel of the derny.


Heats of between six and nine riders will be held and the top 12 will progress to the next round.  The best six will then ride off for the medals.


Riders come crashing down during Keirin


With so many riders taking part in what is a pure sprint race, there are often crashes on the final laps and this is definitely a must watch event.


Women’s Keirin Key Facts


Current World Champion:  Anna Meares (Australia)


Olympic dates: 3 August


Venue: Velodrome, Olympic Park


Distance: 8 laps


Format: First round heats and repecharges will be followed by semi-final and finals.  Six riders will qualify to ride off for the medals.


Medal Favourites:   The current World Championship, Anna Meares, should never be underestimated, but GB’s Victoria Pendleton has also shown the speed and tactical ability to win, as has Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania).  However, given the nature of this race, there could be a surprise winner in this event.



Web site design by GVC