BC National Road Race Championships


London Olympic silver medallist Lizzie Armitstead (Boels Dolmans) was crowned British National Road Race champion for 2013 in Glasgow at the weekend.  The course that is set to host the Commonwealth Games road race in 2014, drew a crowd of 30,000 spectators.


Lizzie Armitstead wins BC National Road Race in Glasgow 2013

Image courtesy of SWpixcyclingphotos.com


Lizzie soloed to victory to regained the title she won in 2011, beating the Wiggle Honda duo of Laura Trott and Dani King.  Lizzie finised with over a minute in hand which gave her (in her words) “a chance to celebrate in front of the crowd and feel like a bit of a rockstar.”


Laura Trott beat Dani King to take second place overally and it was also enough to earn her the women’s U23 title, ahead of Emma Grant (Matrix Fitness Racing) and Elinor Barker (Wiggle Honda).


After the race, Lizzie spoke to British Cycling and said "I didn't want to show my cards too early and if I tried to go on the steep climb I knew I'd probably have a bit more power over the track riders, who are used to shorter distances, so I used that to my advantage, played a bit of a poker face.


"I was kind of waiting for it all race really, Dani lead all the last lap and if I was them I would have continually attacked me, but maybe they were confident of beating me in a sprint, but I wasn't letting it go to a sprint."


National RR podium L-R Laura Trott (silver0, Lizzie Armitstead (gold), Dani King (bronze)

Image courtesy of SWpixcyclingphotos.com


The race really took shape when on the fourth lap Amy Roberts (Wiggle Honda) and Emma Trott (Boels Dolmans) worked to established small lead.  Lizzie then used the climb on Montrose Street to put in a huge attack, that only only Dani King and Laura Trott could respond to.  This trio rode up to Amy and Emma and it proved to be the final selection.


Eventually Amy dropped out of this group and fell back to the chase group that included the defending champion Sharon Laws (Lotto-Bellisol).  This group of six looked like they might make the junction with the leaders for some time but it never actually happened.


After another dig from Lizzie, Emma Trott, who had worked hard in the early stages to set the pace, was unable to stay with the leaders.  She eventually finished  5th.  And in the closing stages Joanna Rowsell (Wiggle Honda) decided to go it alone.   She launched a massive attack that saw the recently crowned Time Trial champion jump from the third group on the road.  She then rode alone to the second group, continuing past them to catch Emma Trott and finish fourth 2.58 behind Lizzie.




1 Elizabeth Armitstead Boels Dolmans CT 3:12:40

2 Laura Trott OBE Wiggle Honda 1:03

3 Danielle King Wiggle Honda st

4 Joanna Rowsell Wiggle Honda 2:58

5 Emma Trott Boels Dolmans CT 3:20

6 Sharon Laws Lotto - Belisol 4:49

7 Claire Thomas Unattached 4:52

8 Emma Grant Matrix Fitness Racing 4:54

9 Natalie Creswick Mulebar Girl - Sigma Sport 5:33

10 Elinor Barker Wiggle Honda 7:29

11 Alexie Shaw Les Filles Racing Team 8:12

12 Amy Roberts Wiggle Honda 10:30

13 Laura Massey Abergavenny RC 11:14

14 Lucy Garner Argos - Shimano 11:51

15 Hannah Barnes MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling st

16 Charline Joiner MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling st

17 Eileen Roe Breast Cancer Care st

18 Molly Weaver Breast Cancer Care st

19 Hannah Walker Matrix Fitness Racing st

20 Julie Erskine Granite City RT st

21 Corrine Hall Matrix Fitness Racing st

22 Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness Racing 11:54

23 Lucy Martin Boels Dolmans CT 11:55

24 Helen Ralston Les Filles Racing Team 14:04

25 Jane Barr Breast Cancer Care 14:05

26 Karen Poole GB Cycles.co.uk 14:06

27 Lucy Coldwell Unattached st

28 Joanna Tindley Matrix Fitness Racing 17:29

29 Gabriella Shaw Breast Cancer Care 17:30

30 Melissa Brand MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling st

31 Jennifer Taylor Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers st

32 Penny Rowson Breast Cancer Care 17:33


Highlights of the British Cycling National Road Championships will be broadcast on ITV4 on Monday 24 June at 7pm.



Web site design by GVC