BC National RR Champs


Olympic Silver medallist in Bejing and ex-World Time Trial Champion, Emma Pooley took the 2014 British National time-trial championship title in Monmouthsire, from Katie Archibald and Dame Sarah Storey.


Emma Pooley 2014 National TT Champion


The hilly course suited Pooley, who beat Katie Archibald by 39 seconds, while the defending champion, Joanna Rowsell, was last out on the course in wet conditions and she finished out of the medals in sixth.


Wiggle Honda’s Amy Roberts was the first woman to take the start ramp in Celtic Manor and notched-up a time of 33 minutes and 19 seconds, a benchmark that left the 19-year-old Welshwoman in the hot seat for much the event, until Lucy Coldwell of Velosport smashed Roberts’ time with a 31:43.


Coldwell’s time stood as one-by-one the 30-strong field came through until Pooley came through with a blistering time of 30:18, the last rider to complete the course before rain began to fall on the circuit.


World team pursuit champion Elinor Barker came close to toppling Pooley with a 31:22 ride before Barker’s team pursuit colleague, Katie Archibald (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International), hotly tipped for the win, came even closer with a 30:57.


Dame Sarah Storey, Archibald’s teammate was next to challenge with a 31:09 before under-23 road race champion Laura Trott posted a 31:27 with only a few riders, including Wiggle Honda teammate and defending champion Joanna Rowsell to go.


However Pooley’s effort proved to be invincible, the 31-year-old taking the title for the third time after wins in 2009 and 2010.


Emma Pooley 2014 National TT Champion from Katie Archibald and Sarah Storey


After taking the title Pooley said:  "It's been quite a few years since I've ridden the national championships so actually I think every time I've ridden it, I've won it! It's really special because it's quite a while since I've won a race.


"The way I approach time trials it doesn't really matter what the course is, you have to have a constant effort over the time.


"I knew I was going to race for approximately half an hour so the idea was to not totally smash yourself on the hills but keeping the power up on the descents as well - and not fall off as well! It rained in the last few minutes and got pretty slippy.


"I try to not think about the other riders in a time-trial. I can't affect how they ride and all you can do is do your best and if someone's quicker, then good on them.


"I think Katie Archibald did an awesome ride. I'm really impressed - she's quite a talent."



Overall position First name Last name Race number Team name Finish time
1 Emma Pooley 36 VC Norwich 00:30:18
2 Katie Archibald 39 Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International 00:30:57
3 Dame Sarah Storey 41 Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International 00:31:09
4 Elinor Barker 38 Wiggle Honda 00:31:22
5 Laura Trott 42 Wiggle Honda 00:31:27
6 Joanna Rowsell 44 Wiggle Honda 00:31:41
7 Lucy Coldwell 20 Velosport - Pasta Montegrappa 00:31:43
8 Danielle King 40 Wiggle Honda 00:32:28
9 Emily Robertson 25 CC Luton 00:33:06
10 Claire Galloway 30 Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International 00:33:11
11 Anna Christian 24 Epic Cycles - Scott WRT 00:33:13
12 Amy Roberts 1 Wiggle Honda 00:33:19
13 Maryka Sennema 4 Kingston Whls CC 00:33:51
14 Suzetta Guerrini 11 Boom Cycle CC 00:33:58
15 Elizabeth Malins 29 Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science 00:33:59
16 Rebecca Rimmington 22 Merlin Cycles 00:34:01
17 Gabriella Shaw 37 Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International 00:34:13
18 Joanne Blakeley 3 GB Cycles .co.uk 00:34:33
19 Tamina Oliver 27 Endura Lady Force - WV Zeeuws Vla 00:34:38
20 Alice Cobb 9 Squadra Donne 00:34:49
21 Laura Wasley 19 Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science 00:35:00
22 Karen Poole 14 GB Cycles.co.uk 00:35:19
23 Karina Bowie 6 GVC Edmond De Rothschild 00:35:39
24 Ann Bowditch 15 GVC Edmond De Rothschild 00:35:39
25 Eleanor Jones 28 VC St Raphael 00:35:47
26 Helen McKay 13 Look Mum No Hands! 00:35:56
27 Emily Kay 32 Epic Cycles - Scott WRT 00:36:11
28 Elanor Cadzow 8 Bonito Squadra Corse 00:36:28
29 Marina Bleasdale 5 Guernsey Velo Club 00:36:43
30 Stephanie Post 2 Cardiff Ajax 00:37:01
31 Faye Faber 10 BC PM 00:37:34
32 Zoe Betteridge 26 North Devon Wheelers - South Fork 00:38:10
33 Louise Burnie 7 Loughborough Students CC 00:38:13
34 Adel Tyson-Bloor 33 Team Mulebar Girl - Sigma Sport 00:38:25
35 Sophie Lankford 12 Team WNT 00:38:51
  Manon Lloyd 16 Fusion Development Racing Team  
  Joanna Watts 17 Guernsey Velo Club  
  Anna Turvey 18 Tyneside Vagabonds CC  
  Ciara Horne 21 Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International  
  Hayley Simmonds 23 Velosport - Pasta Montegrappa  
  Amy Hill 31 Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science  
  Laura Massey 34 Epic Cycles - Scott WRT  
  Hayley Jones 35 Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International  
  Elizabeth Armitstead 43 Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
Web site design by GVC