Marianne Vos takes victory at the World Cyclo-Cross Champs


22 year old Marianne Vos (Netherlands) was untouchable in the World cyclo-cross champs at the weekend, where she picked up her second successive title – adding to the multiple world titles she has won on the road and on the track. 


Silver was taken by five times World Champion Hanka Kupfernagel (Germany), whose season has been blighted by injury.  She was unable to respond when Vos went on the attack on lap two and came in 45 seconds down.  Bronze was taken by Daphny Van De Brand (Netherlands) a further 17 seconds behind Kupfernagel.  Van De Brand was being chased down by Katerina Nash (Czech Republic), but managed to stay upright to secure the medal, while Nash crashed three times.


Conditions for the race were treacherous.  Freezing overnight temperatures, combined with snow fall prior to the start and left no margin for error.


Among the 43 starters for the 5 lap race, there were four British riders.  The best result came from the young Olympic Academy Programme mountain bike rider, Anne Last, who finished in a stunning 11th place, despite starting at the very back of the grid and dropping her chain on the last lap.


Next home for GB was Nikki Harris, in 19th place, then a very disappointed Helen Wyman in 23rd, followed by Gabby Day in 27th.


Wyman, a medallist at the European cyclo-cross championships earlier this season, went into the race in great form, but was unable to show that form in the icy conditions.  She made a number of mistakes throughout the race and paid a high price in terms of race position each time.




GOLD Marianne Vos (Netherlands) 0:42:59  

SILVER Hanka Kupfernagel (Germany) 0:00:45  

BRONZE Daphny Van Den Brand (Netherlands) 0:01:02  

4 Katerina Nash (Czech Republic) 0:01:20  

5 Eva Lechner (Italy) 0:01:41  

6 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (France) 0:01:47  

7 Caroline Mani (France) 0:01:53  

8 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (France) 0:02:11  

9 Sanne Van Paassen (Netherlands) 0:02:28  

10 Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (France) 0:02:31  

11 Annie Last (Great Britain) 0:02:37  

12 Meredith Miller (United States Of America) 0:02:55  

13 Sabrina Schweizer (Germany) 0:03:00   

14 Amy Dombroski (United States Of America) 0:03:16  

15 Sanne Cant (Belgium) 0:03:18  

16 Linda Van Rijen (Netherlands) 0:03:23  

17 Rocio Gamonal Ferrera (Spain) 0:03:30  

18 Maureen Demaret Guichardot (France) 0:03:39  

19 Nikki Harris (Great Britain) 0:03:49  

20 Elisabeth Brandau (Germany) 0:04:02  

21 Martina Zwick (Germany) 0:04:04  

22 Katrin Leumann (Switzerland) 0:04:09  

23 Helen Wyman (Great Britain)    

24 Joyce Vanderbeken (Belgium) 0:04:27  

25 Maureen Bruno Roy (United States Of America) 0:04:28  

26 Arenda Grimberg (Netherlands) 0:04:37  

27 Gabriella Day (Great Britain) 0:04:51  

28 Jana Kyptova (Czech Republic) 0:05:00  

29 Sophie De Boer (Netherlands)    

30 Pavla Havlikova (Czech Republic) 0:05:25  

31 Laura Van Gilder (United States Of America) 0:05:53  

32 Reza Hormes (Netherlands) 0:06:10  

33 Martina Mikulaskova (Czech Republic) 0:06:14  

34 Zuzana Pirzkallova (Czech Republic) 0:06:15  

35 Masami Morita (Japan) 0:06:36  

36 Nikoline Hansen (Denmark) 0:07:06  

37 Marzena Wasiuk (Poland) 0:07:16  

38 Ayako Toyooka (Japan) 0:07:28  

39 Chika Fukumoto (Japan) 0:08:57  

40 Michiko Shimura (Japan) 0:09:48  

41 Vicki Thomas (Canada) 0:10:31  

42 -1lap Eszter Dosa (Hungary)    

43 Zuzana Vojtasova (Slovakia)     

DNF Katherine Compton (United States Of America)


Want to read more:

Cyclo Cross National Series

Cyclo-Cross guide

Web site design by GVC