European road race season kicks off



The 126 km semi classic, attracted a field of 164 women, from which Swede, Emma Johansson (Red Sun Cycling Team) emerged victorious.


Johansson outsprinted her fellow escapees to take the victory, with her breakaway companions, both from Belgium, Liesbet de Vocht (Nederland Bloeit) and Grace Verbeke (Lotto Ladies) took second and third respectively.


The racing was not particularly aggressive in the opening kilometres, the climbs caused a few women to drop off the back, rather than any pressure from the head of the race.  That was to change as the race headed up the Kluisberb where four riders, including the eventual winner managed to get a gap on the rest of the field.


The breakaway group of Johansson, de Vocht, Verbeke and Sarah Duster, were quickly joined by Regina Bruins from Cervelo, and they worked well together to finish almost three and a half minutes ahead of the main field.


Johansson, worried that she might not have enough of a sprint to win and knowing that there were two riders from Cervelo Test Team in the breakaway, attacked the group in the final few kilometres.  She was unable to get away, but the Cervelo girls lost contact leaving just three to contest the final sprint. 



Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result

1 Emma Johansson (Swe) Redsun Cycling Team 3:26:15  

2 Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Nederland Bloeit    

3 Grace Verbeke (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team    

4 Regina Bruins (Ned) Cervelo Test Team 0:00:06  

5 Sarah Düster (Ger) Cervelo Test Team 0:01:48  

6 Martine Bras (Ned) Gauss RDZ Ormu 0:02:45  

7 Mirjam Melchers-Van Poppel (Ned) Cervelo Test Team    

8 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Nederland Bloeit 0:02:52  

9 Sophie Creux (Fra) Esgl 93 - Gsd Gestion 0:02:54  

10 Iris Slappendel (Ned) Cervelo Test Team    

11 Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team    

12 Petra Dijkman (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team    

13 Kelly Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Thompson    

14 Catherine Delfosse (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team 0:03:05  

15 Sjoukje Dufoer (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Thompson 0:04:19  

16 Loes Markerink (Ned) Nederland Bloeit    

17 Lucy Martin (GBr) Great Britain    

18 Janneke Kanis (Ned) Nederland Bloeit    

19 Kim Schoonbaert (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team    

20 Monique Van De Ree (Ned)    

21 Annelies Van Doorslaer (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team    

22 Jessie Daams (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Thompson    

23 Maria Grandt Petersen (Den) Hitec Products Uck    

24 Annie Last (GBr) Great Britain    

25 Chantal Blaak (Ned)    

26 Veronica Andreasson (Swe) Lotto Ladies Team    

27 Ludivine Henrion (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team    

28 Andrea Bosman (Ned)    

29 Lieselot Decroix (Bel) Cervelo Test Team 0:05:19  

30 Julie Beveridge (Can) Vienne Futuroscope 0:05:45  

31 Valentina Carretta (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi 0:06:02  

32 Roxane Knetemann (Ned) 0:06:54  

33 Laure Werner (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team    

34 Emma Silversides (GBr) Redsun Cycling Team    

35 Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope    

36 Jolien D'hoore (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Thompson    

37 Ine Beyen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Thompson    

38 Inge Klep (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team 0:09:31  

39 Michelle Geoghegan (Irl) 0:09:37  

40 Karin Aune (Swe) Fenixs - Petrogradets 0:09:46  

41 Lucinda Brand (Ned) 0:10:28  

42 Hannah Mayho (GBr) Great Britain 0:10:39  

43 Anne Eversdijk (Ned) 0:11:18  

44 Marijn De Vries (Ned)    

45 Gabriela Slamova (Cze) Vienne Futuroscope    

46 Sonja Boogaard (Ned)    

47 Nathalie Jeuland (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope    

48 Lien Lanssens (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team    

49 Baukje Doedee (Ned)    

50 Elena Berlato (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi    

51 Gloria Presti (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi    

52 Aurore Verhoeven (Fra) Esgl 93 - Gsd Gestion    

53 Kaat Hannes (Bel)    

54 Anne De Wildt (Ned)    

55 Debby Van De Berg (Ned)    

56 Patricia Schwager (Swi) Cervelo Test Team    

57 Anne Arnouts (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team    

58 Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi    

59 Sigrid Corneo (Slo) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi    

60 Noortje Tabak (Ned) Nederland Bloeit    

61 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Cervelo Test Team 0:12:11  

62 Mélanie Bravard (Fra) Esgl 93 - Gsd Gestion    

63 Laura Trott (GBr) Great Britain    

64 Jenifer Letue (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope    

65 Béatrice Thomas (Fra) Esgl 93 - Gsd Gestion    

66 Elodie Hegoburu (Fra) Esgl 93 - Gsd Gestion    

67 Hannah Welter (Ned)    

68 Suzanne Van Veen (Ned)    

69 Fröydis Waerstad (Nor) Hitec Products Uck    

70 Eefje Tabak (Ned)    

71 Else Belmans (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Thompson    

72 Josien Van Den Heerik (Ned)    

73 Roxane Fournier (Fra) Esgl 93 - Gsd Gestion    

74 Sofie Van Horik (Ned)



Web site design by GVC