BC Road Race Champs


Having sat out the race last year, Deignan found herself in the unusual position of not being the defending champion but she was the clear favourite going into the race.  That is not to suggest there wasn’t some strong competition, there most certainly was, and that made for one of the most exciting races for years.  Deignan herself described it as “brutal”.


Lizzie Deignan solos to fourth National Road Race title on the Isle of Man in late attack that leaves the competition out of sight


It wasn’t they were inside the final 2k that Deignan got her nose in front, with an attack that opened up a eventual 14 second advantage over the very select group she was in, and overwhelming Elinor Barker who had been on a loan attack for a considerable time.  Barker looked like a woman on a mission and with something to prove after a puncture robbed her of a chance to contend the time trial title earlier in the week, but it wasn’t to be as her lead – at one point more than a minute – ebbed away in the final kilometres.


After the race, Deignan told the press: “It’s great to be in the jersey again. It’s always such a difficult race to win – you don’t just need good legs, you need a bit of luck too.


"It’s one of the hardest national championships I’ve ever won – it wasn’t a case of going in to the race with five rivals, it was more likely 20, and I’m very proud of the fact that we have so many women now who are capable of competing internationally as well as domestically.


“I know that Elinor will be so disappointed but she shouldn’t be; it was an incredible performance. It’ll stand her in good stead in the future.”


BC NAtional Road Race podium, Lizzie Deignan, Katie Archibald, Hannah Barnes



  1. Lizzie Deignan, Boels Dolmans
  2. Katie Archibald, Team WNT
  3. Hannah Barnes, Canyon-SRAM


U23 Race Results

  1. Mel Lowther, Team Breeze
  2. Manon Lloyd, Team Breeze
  3. Anna Christian Drops




Web site design by GVC